2016

 

A letter to 2016:

Dear 2016,

My oh my , what a year it was.

I can still remember the first day as I sat outside in my patio journaling and sipping my coffee. As I spent time with God in my devotional, I got my word for the year—Trust.

I was dreading you a bit. 2015 was harsh. I was being molded. I felt every useless piece being pulled apart, every chisel, every scrape.  But I soon learned that the Sculptor was at work and He was creating the best version of me. He was bringing out what was hidden for a long time. All along, the hardship was a part of a perfect plan.

I wondered what was to come. What was my next move? And all I kept hearing was the whisper of the word trust. 

2016, you taught to to use the courage I gained previously to trust that God was in full control. This has been the best year thus far and I am so humbled and amazed by every good thing that happened. I had so many wonderful adventures an built new beautiful friendships. I’ve had the best semesters in school and got an incredible internship. So many doors opened, so many unanswered prayers finally fulfilled. I can remember all 12 months and have good memories for each, something that I have never had.

2016, you taught to appreciate each day and to wake up and be hopeful for what’s to come for the next couple of hours. You taught me to look forward to the day ahead and be hopeful that this could be the day I make an impact. You taught me to learn something new everyday and challenge myself. You taught me to take risks and to be a dreamer.

2016, you showed me that I am capable of so much more than I imagined. You taught me that being transparent is sometimes necessary. You taught me to love the person I am flaws and all and to value myself. You taught me that God’s plan is set and to trust that He is in full control.

2016, you gave me my car!

The time has come to part ways and let go. It’s time for the next chapter. It’s time for a new season. It’s time to learn new things and keep unraveling the life that God creating for me. There is so much more to discover and gain and I can’t wait to see what’s next. You were great and I will miss you, but it’s time for the next adventure.

2017, YOU’RE UP!

HNY.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment